Twenty-nine exceptional dental school students were recently recognized, each with a $10,000 award, by the Delta Dental Community Care Foundation.

Deans and faculty at dental schools throughout our enterprise region handpicked the award winners for their strong leadership skills, dedication to serving others and passion for the field of dentistry.

The students were presented with their award at their dental school’s commencement or awards ceremony. Check out the Foundation on Facebook and visit us on Instagram (@ddccfoundation) for photos of the winners.

The 2018 Delta Dental Community Care Foundation Student Leadership Award winners:

Joseph M. Youssef, University of California, San Francisco School of Dentistry

Giana Maria Lupinetti, University of Pittsburgh School of Dental Medicine

Kathryn Champion, Nova Southeastern University College of Dental Medicine

Mechay Rush Gray, University of Alabama School of Dentistry

Rakeb Tilahun, Howard University College of Dentistry

Ashley Boettger, University of Utah School of Dentistry

Samuel Lovejoy, Roseman University College of Dental Medicine

Pete Angelo Petrides, West Virginia University School of Dentistry

Tanya Sue Maestas, University of Texas School of Dentistry in Houston

Amanda Mitchell, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio School of Dentistry

Lauren Brubaker, Texas A&M University College of Dentistry

Jay H. Patel, Temple University Kornberg School of Dentistry

Lam Bui, University of Pennsylvania School of Dental Medicine

Stephen C. Rogers, University at Buffalo School of Dental Medicine

Taylor Cohen, University of Nevada, Las Vegas School of Dental Medicine

Rachel Vorwaller, Columbia University College of Dental Medicine

Sana Nasir, New York University College of Dentistry

Tyler Samuel Wheeler, University of Mississippi School of Dentistry

Jessica Grenfell, Stony Brook University School of Dental Medicine

Margaret M. Saludis, University of Maryland School of Dentistry

Edward Dark Starr, Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center School of Dentistry

Dahlia Levine, Dental College of Georgia at Augusta University

Austin Belknap, Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine, School of Dental Medicine

Alejandro Quesada, University of Florida College of Dentistry

Diana Heineken, Western University of Health Sciences College of Dental Medicine

Melissa Toni Lin, University of California, Los Angeles School of Dentistry

Jin Ki Kang, Herman Ostrow School of Dentistry of the University of Southern California

Albert Scott Young, University of the Pacific Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry

Kyle Leis, Loma Linda University School of Dentistry

Learn more about the Delta Dental Community Care Foundation at